Customer Reviews for Kiehls Blue Herbal Gel Cleanser

Kiehls Blue Herbal Gel Cleanser

An effective, oil-free, non-drying acne cleanser
Average Customer Rating:
4.711 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(90 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (90 reviews)
5 stars
74
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
84 out of 90(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Blue Herbal Gel Cleanser
Review 1 for Blue Herbal Gel Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effect 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Texture 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed by
FromNashville, TN
on9/5/12
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Kiehl's customer since: Kiehl's Fan (2+ Years)

Solid Performance

on9/5/12
My favorite thing about this product is: The clean feeling.
I've been using this for years. I use it every morning. It's eucalyptus aroma really helps wake me up and I let it set on my face for an extra few seconds before washing it off so it gives me a light tingle -- very refreshing!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Blue Herbal Gel Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effect 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Texture 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewed by
FromNew York, NY
on1/11/16
Age: 18-24
I received a free sample of this product.No
Gender: female
Kiehl's customer since: Just Trying It Out

Blue Herbal Gel Cleanser

on1/11/16
Pros: face feels clean soft refreshed, helping clear my spots
Cons: not that foamy/thick
I am a first time buyer and I purchased this cleanser three weeks ago and so fair I like it. It is clearing my spots slowly. My face feels clean and soft after a great rinse. For all you makeup users (such as myself), I suggest you use makeup remover wipes because this cleanser isn't that foamy/thick and won't remove all of your makeup unless you use a lot of drops. Once i use my wipes, I only need about 3-4 drops. The price can get pretty expensive if your not mindful of how much you're using. Overall, it's worth it.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Blue Herbal Gel Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effect 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Texture 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed by
FromClifton, NJ
on12/28/15
Age: 18-24
I received a free sample of this product.No
Gender: female
Kiehl's customer since: Kiehl's Fan (2+ Years)

What a miracle

on12/28/15
Pros: fresh smell, feels clean
My favorite thing about this product is: It actually works
I started using this cleanser, with the toner and spot treatment initially and I fell in love. I had breakouts prior to using it and this definitely helped. I still break out once in a while (when I'm lax about my skin care routine or when it's that time of month) but definitely not as bad as I did prior to using this. It is easy to use and the smell is not strong. This whole blue herbal line is amazing and I would recommend it to everyone. Make sure to use the Grapefruit Oil and Kiehl's moisturizer to make sure your skin stays hydrated. LOVE LOVE LOVE
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Blue Herbal Gel Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effect 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Texture 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed by
FromTexas
on12/26/15
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Kiehl's customer since: Since My Family/Friend Got Me Hooked

Amazing cleanser!

on12/26/15
I bought this cleanser after reading that Kylie Jenner used it (I know, pathetic!) but I have to say that I am completely in love with this cleanser. I've been using it for almost 2 weeks now with my Clarisonic and my acne-prone skin has never been so clear nor my face so soft. I also love it because when I get some in my eye, it doesn't burn the heck out of my eyes like a lot of cleansers I use! Definitely recommend this product!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Blue Herbal Gel Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effect 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Texture 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed by
FromNew Jersey
on10/9/15
Age: 25-34
I received a free sample of this product.No
Gender: female
Kiehl's customer since: Since My Family/Friend Got Me Hooked

Finally!

on10/9/15
Pros: a nickle size goes a long way
My favorite thing about this product is: Its smells amazing
I read up on so many acne cleansers, purchased and used so many, because I break out so much, especially when the weather changes. I walked into a department store to purchase that "other" acne line, that i swore by before. The sales rep recommended this Blue Herbal Gel Cleanser and says she uses it with her Mia2. I purchased it . Drove home and washed my face. After the wash, my skin felt squeaky clean. Now, after 10 days my blemishes are fading day by day. I cant wait to see results after a month or two.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Blue Herbal Gel Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effect 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Texture 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed by
FromFL
on10/7/15
Age: 35-44
I received a free sample of this product.No
Gender: female
Kiehl's customer since: Long-Time Loyalist

Great for keeping skin clear

on10/7/15
Pros: bottle lasts forever, deep cleaning but not stripping
My favorite thing about this product is: How soft and clean my skin feels
I love this cleanser for keeping my combination skin clear without over drying it. I am very acne prone but many acne specific cleansers are over drying and leave my skin feeling tight. That is not the case with Blue Herbal. I use this in conjunction with the Blue Herbal toner and the Lightweight Rosa Artica cream and it's the perfect combination. In the most humid summer months in FL, I may use the Blue Herbal moisturizer instead of the Rosa Artica. I recommend this line wholeheartedly. The cleanser is a little thinner in consistency than many gel cleansers but foams up beautifully.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Blue Herbal Gel Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effect 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Texture 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reviewed by
FromPortland, OR
on9/5/15
Age: 25-34
I received a free sample of this product.No
Gender: female
Kiehl's customer since: Kiehl's Fan (2+ Years)

Does not work

on9/5/15
Cons: increased blocked pores, does not work
I ran out of the Rare Clay cleanser and decided to try this. I have combination chin and only break out on my chin. I have blackheads on my nose and chin but mainly cystic acne on my chin. This did not clean my skin well and I began to even use it with a Mia 3. I saw more blackheads on my chin so this definitely did not clean my pores as I thought it would. I continued to use it for 3 months and still no improvement. I'm back to using Rare Clay cleanser, save your money and try a sample before purchasing this.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Blue Herbal Gel Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effect 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Texture 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed by
FromDallas, TX
on8/8/15
Age: 35-44
I received a free sample of this product.No
Gender: female
Kiehl's customer since: Kiehl's Fan (2+ Years)

Great for summer months!

on8/8/15
Pros: clarifying, evens out skin tone
I live in Texas and have oily/combination skin. I use this about 6 months out of the year - mid-spring to mid-fall. And I love it! I lightly exfoliate each day, then I use this (normally in the shower after my pores have opened up). My skin feels refreshed and hydrated. I then use the Blue Herbal moisturizer - also amazing. It's a little drying during the fall and winter, so I switch over to the Ultra Facial Cleanser then.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Blue Herbal Gel Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effect 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Texture 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed by
on4/18/15
Age: Under 18
I received a free sample of this product.Yes
Gender: male
Kiehl's customer since: Long-Time Loyalist

Acne = Thing of the Past

on4/18/15
Pros: effectively cleanses skin, mops up excess oil on face, gets rid of any blemishes in minimal time
Cons: nothing!
My favorite thing about this product is: leaves my skin feeling refreshed and revitalized
I am a fourteen year old guy who has been struggling with minor to moderate acne on my t-zone, as well as oily skin on my nose. To make matters worse, I was also suffering from dry skin. This innovative Kiehl's Blue Herbal Gel Cleanser was a lifesaver from the first day I started using it. It gave a little tingle, which really made it feel like it was working, and in less than a week my skin was clear, and there were no blemishes. Pair this with the Kiehl's Blue Astringent Herbal Lotion, and the duo works like a miracle. The Herbal Lotion leaves my skin feeling tight (in a good way) and makes my pores feel nice and refreshed. To help with the dry skin I have, instead of using the Blue Herbal Moisturizer, I use the Kiehl's Ultra Facial Oil-Free Gel Cream, which really leaves my skin feeling hydrated without the excess oil.
These three amazing Kiehl's products does wonders for my skin, and will suggest these products to anyone.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Blue Herbal Gel Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effect 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Texture 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed by
on3/24/15
Age: 18-24
I received a free sample of this product.No
Gender: female
Kiehl's customer since: Kiehl's Fan (2+ Years)

Amazing Product

on3/24/15
Pros: everything!!
Cons: price
My favorite thing about this product is: Refreshing feeling
I have been using this product for nearly a year now and I love it! I keep purchasing it because it is the best face wash I have ever owned. I use to have horrible acne and it is completely gone! Every now and then I'll get a tiny pimple but as soon as I use this stuff it is gone within 2 days guaranteed. I use it every night and every morning. It makes your face feel like someone's blowing mint on it, it is so refreshing! I highly recommend it. I have super oily skin and this keeps it at bay. However, during the day my face does get oily again but it keeps the oil away for about 6 hours so that's not bad at all!! Try it out, you wont be disappointed.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Blue Herbal Gel Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effect 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Texture 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed by
FromPhoenix, AZ
on12/11/14
Age: 18-24
I received a free sample of this product.Yes
Gender: female
Kiehl's customer since: Kiehl's Fan (2+ Years)

Cured my acne!

on12/11/14
Pros: non irritating to sensitive skin, non drying, great value, refreshing minty scent and tingling feeling, clears acne
My favorite thing about this product is: It cleared my acne up in three weeks!
I have had acne for the majority of my childhood and now into my adult years. I have tried many products such as Proactive, Mario Badescu, and countless others I cannot name. Nothing has ever really worked for me because I have extremely sensitive skin and severe acne. So after years and years of searching for something that fit well with my skin type and cured acne, I finally found my miracle product. Blue Herbal Gel Cleanser is such a smooth and calming product. I wash my face with it every single night, and it never dries out my sensitive skin. The cooling minty feel and scent helps reassure me that I am getting a deep cleanse from this gel. I love everything about it. It is reasonably priced, and shows great results that make it worth the money. It has been about 3 weeks since I first started using this cleanser and my acne has already vanished on 80% of my face. I am confident enough to leave the house without makeup, and I have Kiehls to thank for that! I would definitely recommend this product if you are trying to cure acne. I am also using the blue Herbal Toner to compliment this gel cleanser. I now refer to these two products as the Acne Wonder Duo!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Blue Herbal Gel Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed by
FromPrinceton, NJ
on8/2/14
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Kiehl's customer since: Just Trying It Out

TEST iPad Air

on8/2/14
Pros: effective
Cons: Expensive
My favorite thing about this product is: Works within days
Very good
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Blue Herbal Gel Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effect 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Texture 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewed by
on7/18/14
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Kiehl's customer since: Kiehl's Fan (2+ Years)

The cleanser that finally worked for me- no more cystic acne!

on7/18/14
Pros: it works, feels refreshing, helps with cystic acne
I love this cleanser. It feels and smells like it is REALLY working. It doesn't dry out my skin and, best of all, after 30 years of fighting cystic acne, I haven't had a "big, hard. bump" in about six months!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Blue Herbal Gel Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effect 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Texture 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewed by
on6/23/14
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Kiehl's customer since: Kiehl's Fan (2+ Years)

Best Cleanser

on6/23/14
My favorite thing about this product is: Cooling
I have used every cleanser to combat my adult acne...from expensive department store brands to over the counter types. I actually have done research to find the most effective cleanser for my oily, acne prone, and slightly aging skin. I read other reviews about the Blue Herbal Gel Cleanser and had to try it. I am so glad I did as it did everything it promised...It is clearing up my pimples without drying me out and feels tingly after washing my face. I LOVE it!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Blue Herbal Gel Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effect 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Texture 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed by
FromSanta Fe, NM
on6/19/14
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Kiehl's customer since: Since My Family/Friend Got Me Hooked

awesome cleanser

on6/19/14
My favorite thing about this product is: really cleans
This cleanser is awesome! You can really tell it takes off all the dirt and help with blemishes. All the blue herbal stuff is awesome
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Blue Herbal Gel Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effect 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Texture 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed by
on6/15/14
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Kiehl's customer since: Just Trying It Out

Best Ever

on6/15/14
My favorite thing about this product is: The smell, and that it works!
I've suffered from acne since I was a teenager and I'm 27. I've used expensive systems like Proactiv and Clinique as well as the whole gamut of grocery store products. After wasting so much money trying to get my skin clear, (including microdermabrasion and chemical peels) I did some research and purchased this and the moisturizer. I started noticing a difference after ONE week. I'm two weeks in and my husband mentioned that he's never seen my skin clearer. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a solution that works. I'm so happy I finally did!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Blue Herbal Gel Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effect 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Texture 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed by
on5/25/14
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Kiehl's customer since: Kiehl's Fan (2+ Years)

Excellent product!!

on5/25/14
I've tried several Kiehl's cleanser and this one is the best. It's very effective in cleaning skin.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Blue Herbal Gel Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effect 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Texture 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reviewed by
on5/25/14
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Kiehl's customer since: Kiehl's Fan (2+ Years)

This cleanser is so so.

on5/25/14
I think this cleanser is suitable to use at summer, but I think it compare to the product I used, my skin does not feel dry, but I think it is a little expensive, after I tried it, I think this one is so so
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Blue Herbal Gel Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effect 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Texture 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed by
FromNew York, NY
on5/8/14
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Kiehl's customer since: Kiehl's Fan (2+ Years)

Love This

on5/8/14
My favorite thing about this product is: tightening sensation
This product is amazing. Whenever my face is getting too oily, and I can tell that I'm breaking out, I use this cleanser (with my Clarisonic) and my acne literally disappears within a couple of days. Also, it leaves a great, cooling sensation on my face afterwards. My skin feels tight (but not too tight). A really great, specialized cleanser.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Blue Herbal Gel Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effect 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Texture 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewed by
on3/26/14
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Kiehl's customer since: Long-Time Loyalist

Refreshing

on3/26/14
Pros: great for oily/normal skin, last a long time, affective
My favorite thing about this product is: Not overly drying
I have been using the blue herbal gel cleanser for 2 months and I love it. I love the fresh, cooling menthol effect you get after you use this cleanser. I use it every morning and night. This product has really helped my skin, my skin feels smoother, brighter, and less oily. This cleanser is helping clear blemishes while not over drying. The consistency is a bit too watery but you only need a small amount. Don't give up on the product if you are not seeing results right away, everyone has different skin but this product really works.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.